This clock, "a first-class eight-day clock with four dials" and a bell was gifted in 1897 by John T. Brown of Newburyport. The clock was installed in the tower in the newly built Odd Fellows building, although the clock and its bell would belong to the Town. The Hampton Town Clock Committee is a group of dedicated local volunteers that have worked to rebuild and restore the Hampton Town Clock after it fell in the terrible fire at Odd Fellows Hall in January of 1990. The Committee is raising funds to complete the final stages of restoration and to install the clock in its permanent home in the front of the Centre School on Winnacunnet Road in Hampton and to preserve this clock for future generations.
About the Buiilders
The clock tower has been designed by Preservation Timber Framing and will be built by them. Preservation Timber Framing (Preservationtimberframing.com) is well-known in New England for its work in the restoration of timber-framed buildings, including houses, barns, and churches. They have extensive experience working with clock towers and bring a wealth of knowledge and skill to the Town of Hampton Clock Project.